Specific Phobia

Jockey Club eGPS Psychological Support Project 

Specific Phobia is a common mental disorder that affects 2-4% of people each year. Specific phobia refers to intense fear related to exposure of specific objects and situations, to an extent that prevents it from being faced. Fear is a natural response to danger. Yet, the feeling of fear experienced in individuals with specific phobia is out of proportion of the actual threat. This affects an individual's daily life, such as by intervening in their work when they escape from the threat. 

Common types of Specific Phobia in Hong Kong include:
Animal phobia: insect, dog
Natural environment phobia: water, height, and storm
Situational phobia: confined space, dentist, airplanes
Body-based phobia: injection, blood, vomitus 

 

The psychology and medical field believe that specific phobia is caused by an interaction between biological, psychological and environmental factors. Some people may have certain personal experiences (e.g. being bitten by a dog), or have witnessed or listened to experience shared by others (e.g. air crash). Yet, the majority of them failed to remember the origin of the intense fear. 

Individuals with specific phobia will have physical reactions such as heart palpitation, sweating, trembling and shortness of breath. On a cognitive level, fear-related thoughts encourage them to engage in escape behaviors. This in turn leads to the development of a vicious cycle and keeps the phobia going. 

Physical Sensation

Heart palpitation, sweating, trembling, dry mouth, shortness of breath, chest discomfort or pain, nausea or abdominal discomfort, dizziness, fever or chills, numbness, derealization, depersonalization, have the feeling that your behaviors and feelings do not belong to yourself

 

Thoughts 
Worried that they have to face things that they are afraid of, fear the consequences of facing the things they are afraid of, feel that they will die

Behaviour

Try to escape from any possible encounter that involve the objects/situations in fear, distract themselves, take other precautions (e.g. find someone to accompany them when going out, bring safety items) 

Want to join eGPS Service?

Organised by:

55th-lock up A _RGB  for web.png

Funded by

JC_edited_edited.png

All rights reserved © eGPS 2020

特定恐懼症

賽馬會情緒GPS心理支援計劃 

特定恐懼症 (Specific Phobia) 是一種常見的情緒困擾,每年約有2%至4%的人受恐懼症所困擾。特定恐懼症指對某一種特定事物或環境產生過於劇烈的恐懼,甚至會構成恐慌的程度,以致不能面對該事物。恐懼的感覺是人之常情,然而恐懼症的反應強度與實際的危險不成正比,甚至對生活造成影響,例如:為了逃避及預防恐懼而影響日常生活起居或工作。

 

較常見的類型包括:

  • 動物類:昆蟲、狗

  • 自然類:畏水、畏高、雷電

  • 環境類:幽閉空間、牙醫、坐飛機

  • 身體類:打針、血、嘔吐物

 

心理學界和醫學界普遍認為恐懼症是由生理、心理和環境因素互相影響引起。有部分人可能因為個人經歷(如:被狗咬)而引玫,但大部分人也未能記起恐懼的由來。

經歷特定恐懼症的人士會出現心跳加速、出汗、身體發抖、呼吸困難等的身體反應,而在思想層面上會出現與恐懼有關的思想,導致他們作出逃避行為,久而久之,成為一個惡性循環,令特定恐懼症持續下去。

身體反應

 

心跳加速、出汗、身體發抖、口乾、呼吸困難、胸口不適或疼痛、噁心或腹部不適、頭暈、發熱或發冷、身體麻木、周圍環境不真實、覺得軀體與自己分離、覺得自己的感覺和行為並不屬於自己 

思想

 

擔心自己即將要面對恐懼的事物、擔心面對恐懼的事物的後果、覺得自己會死

行為

 

設法逃避遇到恐懼事物的可能性、逃避特定場合、分散自己的注意力、採取其他預防措施(如找其他人陪同出外、隨身帶備安全物品)​

想參加「情緒GPS」服務? 

主辦機構: 

nlpra_logo_transparent.png

捐助機構: 

JC_edited_edited.png

All rights reserved © eGPS 2020