Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

Jockey Club eGPS Psychological Support Project 

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) is a common mental disorder. Around one in every fifty people will experience obsessive compulsive disorder at some point in their lives. There are three main components of OCD: obsession (intrusive, unwanted thoughts), compulsion (responses that fight the unwanted obsessions), and the accompanying anxiety. Common types of OCD include: 

  • Checking

  • Contamination

  • Intrusive thoughts

The psychology and medical field believe OCD is caused by an interaction between biological, psychological and environmental factors. Biological factors include chemical imbalance in the brain and family inheritance; Psychological factors include faulty cognition; Environmental factors include stress (work, financial, interpersonal relationship). 

Behavior

 

Repetitive Behavior: Such as repeatedly check the door locks and gas stoves to ensure safety, repeatedly wash their hands in fear of contamination, repeatedly seek reassurance from others

Avoidance: Avoid using certain objects or avoid going to certain places to keep the associated anxiety away 

Physical Sensations

Tiredness, shortness of breath, sweating, headache, stomachache, hands shaking, tensed muscles 

Thoughts

 

Uncontrollable thoughts, such as worry about personal hygiene, worry about harming others,  intrusive violent or obscene images that do not reflect one's character, have the feelings that some objects have to place in a certain order or in a certain way

Want to join eGPS service?

On the cognitive level, people with OCD will have obsessive thoughts. These thoughts bring along anxiety and physical sensations that leads to compulsion to neutralize these uncomfortable feelings and sensations. In the long run, the thoughts, physical sensations and behaviours will form a vicious cycle and lead to greater distress . 

Organised by:

55th-lock up A _RGB  for web.png

Funded by

JC_edited_edited.png

All rights reserved © eGPS 2020

強迫症

強迫症 (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder; OCD) 是一種常見的情緒困擾。據統計,每五十個人之中,約有一個人會在一生中的某些時候經歷強迫症。強迫症有三個主要部份分,包括:強迫思想、強迫行為和伴隨而來的緊張情緒。常見強迫症的種類有:

 

  • 檢查類型

  • 清潔類型

  • 思想類型

 

心理學界和醫學界普遍認為強迫症是由生理、心理和環境因素互相影響引起。當中生理因素包括腦部傳遞物失調、家族遺傳等;心理因素如思想謬誤;環境因素如壓力(工作、經濟、人際關係)。

行為

重覆行為(例如:經常洗手以確保衛生、反覆檢查門窗電源等開關以確保安全、重覆尋求他人肯定自己事事妥當)

逃避:迴避使用某些物品或到某些地方,以避開由其引起的緊張情緒

身體反應

 

容易感到疲倦、透不過氣、出汗、頭痛、胃痛、手震、肌肉繃緊或疼痛

思想

無法控制的思想,例如:經常擔心個人衛生、擔心令其他人受到傷害;出現與自己性格完全不符的暴力或色情映像;認為某些事物必要按一定程序或排列

想參加「情緒GPS」服務? 

經歷強迫症的人士在認知層面上會出現強迫思想,往往導致焦慮以及隨之而來的身體反應,並使他們作出強迫行為以處理強迫思想和身體反應。久而久之,思想、身體反應和行為之間形成惡性循環,令困擾難以自然消退。

主辦機構: 

nlpra_logo_transparent.png

捐助機構: 

All rights reserved © eGPS 2020