Panic disorder and Agoraphobia

Jockey Club eGPS Psychological Support Project 

Panic disorder is a common mental disorder. According to statistics, about 4% of Hong Kong people are currently suffering from panic disorder. People with panic disorder have recurrent unexpected panic attacks - sudden periods of intense discomfort that last for 10-30 minutes. Panic disorder can cause great problems to individuals by affecting their work and daily life. 

Agoraphobia is a common condition in panic disorder. People with agoraphobia will avoid crowds (such as subways), situations in which escape might be difficult (e.g. long-distance buses) or unfamiliar places. 

The psychology and medical field believe that panic disorder and agoraphobia are caused by an interaction between biological, psychological and environmental factors. Among them, genetics inheritance is the most important factor. Other related factors include chemical imbalance in the brain (biological), faulty cognition (psychology) and childhood experience (environmental). 

People with panic disorder or agoraphobia will experience different “fight-or-flight responses” on the physical level (see below for examples). These physical sensations will lead to behaviours such as fleeing from the scene, or taking precautions. In the long run, it leads to worries and negative perceptions over these responses, and eventually form a vicious cycle that leads to greater distress.

Physical Sensations

Heart palpitation, sweating, trembling, dry mouth, difficulty breathing, chest pain or discomfort, nausea, dizziness, fever or chill, derealizatoin, depersonalization, have the feeling that your feelings and behavior do not belong to yourself 

Thoughts

Fear of facing the objects they fear, fear of the consequences after facing the objects they fear, fear of death

Behavior

Avoidance Behavior: Avoid exercise, avoid the crowds

 

Safety Behavior: Ask someone to accompany you when going our, carrying medication

Want to join eGPS Service?

Organised by:

55th-lock up A _RGB  for web.png

Funded by

JC_edited_edited.png

All rights reserved © eGPS 2020

主辦機構: 

nlpra_logo_transparent.png

捐助機構: 

All rights reserved © eGPS 2020

驚恐症及廣場恐懼症

驚恐症 (Panic Disorder) 是一種常見的情緒困擾。根據統計,現時約有4%香港人受驚恐症所困擾。經歷驚恐症的人士會無緣無故重覆經歷恐慌突襲,即突然而短暫的強烈恐懼與不適感,大約持續十至三十分鐘。驚恐症會對當事人造成很大困擾,影響他們的工作及生活規律。

 

廣場恐懼症 (Agoraphobia) 是常見於驚恐症的情況,經歷廣場恐懼症的人士會因害怕恐慌突襲而避開人多擠迫(如:地鐵)、難以即時逃離(如:長途巴士)或陌生的地方。

 

心理學界和醫學界普遍認為驚恐症及廣場恐懼症是由生理、心理和環境因素互相影響引起,而遺傳是驚恐症其中較為重要的成因,其他相關因素包括腦部化學物質失調(生理)、思想謬誤(心理)以及生活壓力(環境)。

經歷驚恐症或廣場恐懼症的人士除了恐慌的感覺外,還會出現各種「戰鬥或逃跑」(Fight-or-Flight Response) 的身體反應,使他們在行為方面作出逃避,以及採取預防措施。他們同時在思想層面上會對症狀感到擔心及抱有負面觀感。久而久之,這三個範疇會互相影響,因而形成一個惡性循環,令情緒困擾一直持續。

 身體反應

心跳加速、出汗、身體發抖、口乾、呼吸困難、胸口不適或疼痛、噁心或腹部不適、頭暈、發熱或發冷、身體麻木、覺得周圍環境不真實、覺得軀體與自己分離、覺得自己的感覺和行為並不屬於自己 

思想

擔心自己即將要面對恐懼的事物、擔心面對恐懼的事物的後果、覺得自己會死

行為

逃避行為:例如避免做運動、避免到人多地方

預防措施:例如出門時找人陪同、隨身帶備藥物

想參加「情緒GPS」服務?